Want to receive the latest New Zealand Hospitality news? Subscribe here
Southland Tourism Holdings


Click here to view our hospitality job opportunities available in Southland

Southland (Māori: Murihiku) is the name of New Zealand's southernmost region and is also the name of a district within that region. Southland District covers the majority of the land area of Southland Region, although the region also covers Gore District, Invercargill City and adjacent territorial waters. It has a land area of 30,400.94 km², excluding inland waters such as Lake Te Anau, Lake Manapouri, and Lake Hauroko. Southland District contains the towns of Winton, Riverton, Lumsden and Te Anau, and the islands south of Foveaux Strait: Solander Island, Stewart Island/Rakiura (New Zealand’s third largest island)  and Ruapuke Island. Two of New Zealand's largest national parks are within the boundaries of Southland District: Fiordland National Park, and Rakiura National Park (which covers most of Stewart Island/Rakiura). Southland is New Zealand's southernmost region and  the lush, green pastoral lands of Southland are in strong contrast to the dryness of Central Otago further north. Throughout the Southland region are a number of accessible, tranquil waterways that attract fly-fishing enthusiasts in search of brown trout. The main city, Invercargill, is built around beautiful Queens Park, 80 hectares of gardens, wildlife and sporting fun. As well as an 18-hole golf course, the park has animal enclosures, an aviary, play areas and the Southland Museum.


Northland Auckland Waikato Bay of Plenty Taranaki Manawatu Wanganui Gisborne Hawkes Bay Tasman Nelson Wellington Marlborough Marlborough West Coast Christchurch Canturbury Queenstown Otago Southland